top of page

100th Time's the Charm?

Almost-October greetings!! I was going to blog about my love of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and the colors behind it... but that will have to wait. The song Then He Kissed Me just started playing on my Spotify "Senior Year" playlist and reminded me of why I will never get tired of watching the opening to the 80's flick Adventures in Babysitting. Maybe even for the 100th time. Full discloser, all 80's movies live in my heart but the way that Elizabeth Shue's character Chris is introduced (dancing to the earlier mentioned song) in her teenage room is just spectacular. Trust me when I say I know how to dance along and lip sing just like I tried out for the part myself.

There is something enticing about any "teen dream" movie that makes it truly iconic. Pertaining to this opening, of course the song is catchy, but what else? What makes Dirty Dancing so addictive, Pretty In Pink so swoon worthy, or even High School Musical re-playable (multiple times). Its the feelings, its the characters, its the way that it makes you want to be a carefree teen, grasp onto being one, or be transported back in time. Honestly, I don't think there's anything wrong with falling into a cliché every once in a while. Dress up, think about a crush, and sing your heart out to the latest Harry Style's song while feeling memorable. Tune in to your inner 17 year old dancing queen and life will all of the sudden feel so sweet. Or maybe get a perm.

Now that you've finished watching the link, farewell until my next post!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page